Tuesday, December 22, 2009

Messi Named FIFA World Player of the Year

Messi has conquered everything there is to conquer, after winning the Ballon D'Or, he snatches the FIFA World Player of the Year award, perfecting the year for him and his mates at Barcelona. It seemed obvious that the award would go to Messi, not only did he guide the phenomenal Barcelona team to the famed treble, but he gave Barca the World Club Cup, allowing Guardiola to say that every tournament he has entered with Barcelona in, he has won.

But this isn't the only news that comes out of the FIFA Gala, Marta, the woman player of the year won for the fourth time in a row, something that has never happened in womens or mens football.

And amidst these two fantastic winners, the World XI came out, with Barcelona dominating the list,

In goal is Real Madrid goalie Iker Casillas, with a back four of Dani Alves (Barcelona, right back), Nemanja Vidic (Manchester United, center half), John Terry (Chelsea, center half), and Patrice Evra (Manchester United, left back). The midfield of three is composed of Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Xavi Hernandez (Barcelona), and Andres Iniesta (Barcelona). And finally, the three fantastic forwards are Fernando Torres (Liverpool), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid), and Lionel Messi (Barcelona). The team made up of four Barcelona players is certainly powerful, but some wonder how Eto'o, Puyol, Ibrahimovic, Lampard, and Drogba didn't make the team.

What do you think of these awards? Comment below!

No comments:

Post a Comment


Related Posts with Thumbnails