Thursday, October 15, 2009

2010 WC Qualifiers Wrap Up

The Qualifiers for the 2010 World Cup are over, except for the playoff games which will determine the last batch of teams that will travel to South Africa. Here is a breakdown of the qualified teams, and the teams that will fight for a spot in the playoffs.


Qualified teams: Denmark, Germany, Netherlands, Slovakia, Switzerland, England, Italy, Serbia, Spain

Playoff teams: Portugal, Greece, Slovenia, Russia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Ukraine, France, Republic of Ireland

Many big teams had difficulty in Europe, Portugal and Sweden struggled, and eventually Portugal prevailed, leaving Sweden and Ibrahimovic out of the 2010 World Cup. France struggled to get in the playoffs as well, but great playing by Gignac and Benzema helped save them a spot in the playoffs. Italy made it through, but coach Marcello Lippi was met with heavy controversy by Italian journalists for leaving Cassano out of the squad. England cruised through qualifications with new coach Fabio Capello, and Spain and the Netherlands had little trouble qualifying too.

South America

Qualified teams: Brazil, Chile, Paraguay, Argentina

Playoff team: Uruguay

Only one change in the four qualified teams from the last World Cup, Chile takes the place of Ecuador in the top four. Chile is well known for their extremely attacking play, playing with the 3-3-1-3 formation Chile seems to be one of the teams that will add spice to this upcoming World Cup. Argentina makes it in at the last with controversial comments from Maradona. It seemed that Argentina might not qualify because of the constant change in the squad.


Qualified teams: USA, Mexico, Honduras

Playoff team: Costa Rica

The USA did well in these qualifiers, immediately solidifying its position, and their rival Mexico tried to overcome them, but were short one point. Honduras overcame Costa Rica thanks to a late goal by USA International Bornstein.


Qualified teams: Ghana, Ivory Coast

The African qualifiers haven't finished, and so far only two teams are qualified, Ghana and Ivory Coast. South Africa is already qualified because it is the host nation.


Qualified teams: Australia, Japan, Korea Republic, Korea DPR

Playoff teams: Bahrain, Saudi Arabia

The Asian qualifiers were quickly dominated by Australia and the Korea Republic, both having lost no games, they came first in their respective groups. A very tight competition between Korea DPR, Saudi Arabia, and Iran, all within one point of each other, Iran was unable to qualify.


Playoff team: New Zealand

In Oceania, no direct qualification, the winner of the group of four teams goes in the playoff stages, New Zealand dominated the group with almost double points compared to New Caledonia who came second.

What do you think of the 2010 WC Qualifiers? Comment below!


Related Posts with Thumbnails