Thursday, November 18, 2010

FIFA Puskas Award 2010 Nominees

Hungarian footballer Ferenc Puskas, the inside-left of Real Madrid FC, December 1959. (Photo by Central Press/Hulton Archive/Getty Images)
The legendary Ferenc Puskas
FIFA recently announced the nominees for the FIFA Puskas award, which is basically the best goal of the year award. There are ten nominees, and all ten are fantastic goals! If you're interested in voting, FIFA's voting page is the place to go,

This is how FIFA decides the nomination and awarding process:

"The final list has been drawn up using the following criteria: aesthetics; the importance of the match; the absence of luck or an opposition mistake as a factor making the goal possible; fair play; and the date, with only goals scored between 1 January and 15 October 2010 counting.
You will find every conceivable type of goal in our top ten, from solo efforts and long-range strikes to audacious lobs, unstoppable volleys and gravity-defying scissor-kicks."

The scorers of the goals in competition for the award are Hamit Altintop, Arjen Robben, Giovanni van Bronckhorst, Kumi Yokoyama, Linus Hallenius, Samir Nasri, Lionel Messi, Neymar, Siphiwe Tshabalala and Matthew Burrows. I've found all of the goals on Youtube, and you can watch them below.

My favorite is Linus Hallenius's goal, it has technique, grace, and power. Which one do you think is the best? Comment your favorite below! 

Samir Nasri - Arsenal vs. Porto

Lionel Messi - Barcelona vs. Valencia

Linus Hallenius - Syrianska FC vs. Hammarby

Matthew Burrows - Glentoran vs. Portadown

Hamit Altintop - Kazakhstan vs. Turkey

Neymar - Santo Andre vs. Santos

Arjen Robben - Schalke 04 vs. Bayern Munich

Giovanni Van Bronckhorst - Netherlands vs. Uruguay

Siphiwe Tshabalala - South Africa vs. Mexico

Kumi Yokoyama - Korea DPR vs. Japan (womens)

No comments:

Post a Comment


Related Posts with Thumbnails