Tuesday, July 6, 2010

Netherlands move on to final with 3-2 win

We have our first finalist of the 2010 World Cup, the Netherlands have defeated Uruguay 3-2 to make this World Cup final a European battle.

July 06, 2010 - South Africa - Football - Holland v Uruguay FIFA World Cup Semi Final - South Africa 2010 - Green Point Stadium, Cape Town, South Africa - 6/7/10..Giovanni van Bronckhorst (C) celebrates with team mates after scoring Holland's first goal.
van Bronckhorst celebrating his epic opener
Netherlands – Uruguay

The game began with both teams trying to analyse each other, Uruguay played very well defensively as the Netherlands took their time in building their attacks. It was a wonderful strike by van Bronckhorst which broke the deadlock, a rocket from long distance which went perfectly in the top right corner, slightly hitting off of the post. The Netherlands went on to dominate until Forlan got his long-range goal, a curling left foot which made Stekelenburg look like a fool as he couldn't keep the central shot out of his net.

In the second half Uruguay came out with passion and fight, chasing after every ball and sending plenty of men up the field to attack the Dutch goal. The Netherlands dealt with the pressure well and eventually created their second goal, Sneijder hits a low shot which deflects off of two Uruguayan defenders and curls around Muslera. The match seemed over, although Uruguay continued to press and have spirit, when the Netherlands scored their third with Robben tucking away a header off of the post, it seemed impossible for the South Americans to come back.

But as the Dutch were celebrating full of smiles and laughter, Uruguay pulled one back in the final minutes thanks to Maxi Pereira, giving them new inspiration to fight for the win. It's injury time and Uruguay are sending the entire team forward in a desperate attempt to score what would've been an epic equalizer. The Netherlands held out for a shaky finish, but move on to the final with Sneijder and Robben's magic emanating through the team.

Ballon D'Or 2010: The 23 Nominees

Here are the 23 nominees for the Ballon d'Or of 2010, and there are also the 
World Coaches of the Year award nominees listed below as well. On December 6th 2010 the top three voted players (and coaches) will be announced, until then, we'll just have to analyze the nominees. But I 
won't mosey around, here are the Ballon d'Or of 2010 nominees below:

Xabi Alonso

Daniel Alves  

Iker Casillas 

Cristiano Ronaldo

Didier Drogba 

Samuel Eto’o 

Cesc Fabregas 

Diego Forlan  

Asamoah Gyan 

Andres Iniesta

Julio Cesar 

Miroslav Klose

Philipp Lahm 


Lionel Messi

Thomas Muller

Mesut Ozil  

Carles Puyol

Arjen Robben 

Bastian Schweinsteiger

Wesley Sneijder 

David Villa 

Xavi Hernandez

There's also another award to be given out, and that's the World Coaches of the Year award, here are the 10 nominees below.
Carlo Ancelotti (Chelsea), Vicente del Bosque (Spain), Sir Alex Ferguson (Manchester United), Pep Guardiola (Barcelona), Joachim Low (Germany), Jose Mourinho (Inter Milan/Real Madrid), Oscar Tabarez (Uruguay), Louis Van Gaal (Bayern Munich), Bert van Marwijk (Holland) and Arsene Wenger (Arsenal).

Who do you think will win the two awards? Comment below!


Related Posts with Thumbnails